The Collective

About the Collective

For many years, Star Trek fans in Bloomington, Indiana casually discussed, plotted, and joked about creating a monument to its future Starfleet captain, similar to the one for Captain Kirk in Riverside, Iowa.  In 2019, unbeknownst to one another, three separate groups began planning to make the fantasy a reality.  They eventually met and merged together, becoming the Janeway Collective.

The Janeway Collective is a 501(c)3 non profit corporation.

The Collective itself is made up of two individual bodies, the board and the members which made this possible.

Current Board Members

  • Lee Lawmaster, President
  • Melissa Kocais, Vice-President
  • Mary Beth Kaczmarczyk, Treasurer
  • Jenny Kelly, Secretary
  • Marina Kravchuk, At-Large
  • Dave Cooley, At-Large
  • Vacant, At-Large
  • Vacant, At-Large
  • Vacant, At-Large

The Collective succeeded in carrying out its initial goal of creating and installing a monument to Captain Janeway in her future home town of Bloomington, Indiana, but they see that as just the beginning. 

The ongoing mission sets forth three main goals:

  • To promote STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, Math) education
  • To embody the equity and humanitarian values promoted by Star Trek
  • To provide for the maintenance of the statue for generations to come